China UnionPay Launches Bank Card Service in Mozambique

China UnionPay International launched a bank card service on Thursday here that will allow UnionPay cardholders to make transactions in Mozambique.

The launch ceremony was attended by Chinese ambassador Su Jian, Bank of Mozambique Administrator Augusto Bila, the CEO of Société Générale Mozambique Laurent Vanh and members of the Chinese Enterprises Chamber in Mozambique.

"We want this card to make life easier for Chinese people in Mozambique. The UnionPay card is the most used card in China. The launch of UnionPay service is a way to attract one of the biggest economies in the world, which is China," said Laurent Vanh to Xinhua.

In turn, Augusto Bila said that the government has been consolidating international partnerships, in particular with China, which is a strategic partner in several areas.

According to Bila, the Bank of Mozambique has been interacting with Union Pay International, a bank service provider since 2013, within the Sino-Mozambican bilateral cooperation framework.

"The launch of UnionPay that we are witnessing today marks a significant moment in the national payment system, as a result of the cooperation between Mozambique and China, a strategic partner for the country, as well as one of the most populous economies in the world," said the administrator.

Ambassador Su said that the partnership between the two countries has been fruitful. "China is currently the largest investor, one of the biggest financier and constructor in infrastructure and commercial areas in Mozambique," said Su.

"This cooperation will continue through banking and financial institutions such as UnionPay International," he added.

According to the ambassador, the Chinese Enterprises Chamber in Mozambique has 60 member companies, besides which, there are still many small and medium enterprises in Mozambique in various areas.

The UnionPay International, headquartered in Shanghai, has already provided card services in many African countries such as Ghana, Morocco, Tunisia, Senegal, Equatorial Guinea, Guinea, Madagascar.

From Xinhua News